JOHN!

... en attendant la bombe

Associated with Art Brut, the work of Italian artist Giovanni Galli has only one goal: through his drawings to sublimate the expectation of a liberating nuclear explosion that would allow her to become a woman. Concerned about how this bomb could explode inside him, Giovanni waits for the indications to discover the "correct" atomic formula. This obsession is at the heart of his graphic productions.

Galli has been designing since 1994 at La Tinaia, a creative workshop in the San Salvi psychiatric hospital in Florence. Gustavo Giacosa went to meet him to talk to him about his drawings, which are found in many art brut collections but are often misinterpreted. His graphic work is private and fantasized literature, not originally designed to be read and even less to be represented.

And yet ... Overwhelmed by the potential theatricality of this work, Gustavo Giacosa plunged into the imagination and writing of Giovanni Galli. Haunted by his questions and his most intimate thoughts, he embarked on a work of decryption, transcription and scenic translation of his drawings.

A show was born from the images taken from the artist's work: “GIOVANNI! ... while waiting for the bomb ”. A scene conceived as a mental universe. A body consumed by the obsession with its own mutation. A being inhabited by the ghosts of Buster Keaton and Kazuo Ohno. A choreography of slow and furious movements.

The visionary poetry of this show reveals the loneliness, the inner conflict and the quest for identity of a man refusing the imposition of gender that has been assigned to him by society.

A “single on stage”, accompanied by the pianist and composer Fausto Ferraiuolo and supported by the external gaze of Philippe de Pierpont.

Concept, performance and direction Gustavo Giacosa

Original music performed on stage Fausto Ferraiuolo

Assistant director Philippe de Pierpont

Light designer Bertrand Blayo
Set design Dominique Guyot

Dissemination officer Carine Steullet

Production Company SIC 12

Co-production Châteauvallon / Le Liberté, national stage Toulon Provence Méditerranée

With the support of the Théâtre Bois de l'Aune in Aix-en-Provence and La Grange de Dorigny UNIL in Lausanne (CH).

GIOVANNI!

...en attendant la bombe

Associé à l’Art Brut, le travail de l’artiste italien Giovanni Galli n’a qu’un seul but : sublimer à travers ses dessins l’attente d’une explosion nucléaire libératrice qui lui permettrait de devenir femme. Se préoccupant de savoir comment cette bombe pourrait exploser à l’intérieur de lui, Giovanni attend de recevoir les indications pour découvrir la « bonne » formule atomique. Cette hantise est au cœur de ses productions graphiques.

Galli dessine depuis 1994 à La Tinaia, un atelier de création au sein de l’hôpital psychiatrique San Salvi à Florence. Gustavo Giacosa est allé le rencontrer pour qu’il lui parle de ses dessins, qui se retrouvent dans de nombreuses collections d’art brut mais restent souvent mal interprétés. Son œuvre graphique est une littérature privée et fantasmée, non conçue à l’origine pour être lue et encore moins pour être représentée.

Et pourtant... Bouleversé par la théâtralité potentielle de cette œuvre, Gustavo Giacosa a plongé dans l’imaginaire et l’écriture de Giovanni Galli. Hanté par ses questionnements et ses pensées les plus intimes, il s’est lancé dans un travail de décryptage, de transcription et de traduction scénique de ses dessins.

Un spectacle est né des images tirées de l’œuvre de l’artiste : « GIOVANNI ! ... en attendant la bombe ». Une scène conçue comme un univers mental. Un corps consumé par l’obsession de sa propre mutation. Un être habité par les fantômes de Buster Keaton et Kazuo Ohno. Une chorégraphie de mouvements lents et furieux.

La poésie visionnaire de ce spectacle révèle la solitude, le conflit intérieur et la quête identitaire d’un homme refusant l’imposition de genre qui lui a été assignée par la société.

Un « seul en scène », accompagné par le pianiste et compositeur Fausto Ferraiuolo et soutenu par le regard extérieur de Philippe de Pierpont.

Conception, jeu et mise en scène Gustavo Giacosa

Musique originale interprétée sur scène  Fausto Ferraiuolo

Assistant à la mise en scène  Philippe de Pierpont

Créateur lumière Bertrand Blayo

Production  Compagnie SIC 12

Coproduction  Châteauvallon/Le Liberté, scène nationale  Toulon Provence Méditerranée 

Avec le soutien du Théâtre Bois de l’Aune à Aix-en-Provence et La Grange de Dorigny UNIL à Lausanne (CH).