The Collection 

The Giacosa / Ferraiuolo collection was born around the artistic work of the director and curator Gustavo Giacosa and the pianist and composer Fausto Ferraiuolo. In 2005, they jointly founded the Contemporary Art Cultural Association in Genoa and since then they have continued their research on the relationship between art and madness in the visual arts. Around this theme Giacosa has created numerous exhibitions   and has become today one of the actors who militates for the recognition of this form of art.

Their collection was built up little by little, thanks to the discovery and the defense of certain artists of brut art and to the meeting of other contemporary artists. Giacosa and Ferraiuolo then decided to stretch the thread of their collection in dialogue around three themes: mirror games and the doubling of the ego, the relationship between writing and drawing, the body as a safe for human memory. .

Their collection was built up little by little, thanks to the discovery and the defense of certain artists of brut art and to the meeting of other contemporary artists. Giacosa and Ferraiuolo then decided to stretch the thread of their collection in dialogue around three themes: mirror games and the doubling of the ego, the relationship between writing and drawing, the body as a safe for human memory. .

These themes are regularly discussed as the leitmotif of exhibitions curated by Giacosa or of shows created with Ferraiuolo. Their experience, perpetual spontaneous back and forth between visual arts and performing arts, is synthesized in the creation of this collection. The works that constitute it also serve as a support and illustration for their theoretical reflections.

The exhibition "La Maison" held at the Zola Gallery in Aix-en-Provence in 2017 was created from paintings, sculptures and videos from this collection. It was an opportunity to make this private collection visible for the first time, but also to confirm its primary vocation: to offer itself to the public, to be shared.

La Collection 

La collection Giacosa/Ferraiuolo est née autour du travail artistique du metteur en scène et commissaire d’exposition Gustavo Giacosa et du pianiste et compositeur Fausto Ferraiuolo. En 2005, ils ont fondé ensemble l’Association Culturelle ContemporArt à Gênes et depuis ils poursuivent leur recherche sur le rapport art-folie dans les arts visuels. Autour de cette thématique Giacosa a créé de nombreuses expositions et est devenu aujourd’hui un des acteurs qui milite pour la reconnaissance de cette forme d’art.

Leur collection s'est constituée peu à peu, grâce à la découverte et la défense de certains artistes d’art brut et à la rencontre d’autres artistes contemporains. Giacosa et Ferraiuolo ont alors décidé de tendre le fil de leur collection en dialogue autour de trois thématiques : les jeux de miroirs et le dédoublement du Moi, le rapport entre écriture et dessin, le corps comme coffre-fort de la mémoire.

Ces thèmes sont régulièrement abordés comme leitmotiv des expositions dont Giacosa est commissaire ou des spectacles créés avec Ferraiuolo. Leur expérience, perpétuel va-et-vient spontané entre arts visuels et arts de la scène, se synthétise dans la création de cette collection. Les œuvres qui la constituent servent également de support et d’illustration à leurs réflexions théoriques.

L’exposition « La Maison » qui s’est tenue à la Galerie Zola d’Aix-en-Provence en 2017 a été créée à partir des peintures, sculptures et vidéos issues de cette collection. Ce fut l’occasion de rendre visible cette collection privée pour la première fois, mais aussi de confirmer sa vocation première : s’offrir au public, être partagée.